Road Maintenance

The Director of Road Maintenance works with six managers responsible for Mobile Maintenance (force account) and Road Maintenance in each of two sectors of the country and bridge maintenance in the whole country. For purposes of effective monitoring of field maintenance, the country is divided into two sectors, the Northern Sector and the Southern Sectors. The political regions constituting each sector are shown below:

Political Regions constituting Sectors

Northern Sector

Upper East Region

Upper West Region

Northern Region

Brong Ahafo Region

Ashanti Region

Southern Sector

Eastern Region

Central Region

Western Region

Greater Accra Region

Volta Region


A Road Maintenance Programmes Manager’s position is created to provide support to the office of the Director of Road Maintenance. 

The Mobile Maintenance units: Mobile Maintenance Unit I (MMU I) Northern Sector, is based at Techiman in the Brong Ahafo Region is responsible for the northern sector of the country. Mobile Maintenance Unit II (MMU II) Southern Sector is based at Suhum in the Eastern Region is responsible for the southern sector of the country.

Both Units carry out emergency routine and periodic maintenance works on the roads in in their sectors.


The Bridge Maintenance Unit (BMU) is responsible for maintaining and repairing defective bridges and major culverts in the country. The Unit has two camps, one at Kukurantumi in the Eastern Region and the other at Techiman in the Brong Ahafo Region taking care of all bridges in the southern sector and the northern sector of the country respectively.